The Dog’s Bollocks

Truth is like a dog’s bollocks – pretty obvious if you care to look.

He’s not the anti-Christ, just a very naughty Pope

pope_benedict.jpgThe Vatican has claimed Christian denominations outside the Roman Catholic Church were not full churches of Jesus Christ since they do not recognise the primacy of the Pope. A case of “We will determine who comes before God and in what circumstances!”
A 16-page document, prepared by the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, which Pope Benedict used to head, described Christian Orthodox churches as true churches, but suffering from a “wound” since they do not recognise the primacy of Pope.

It would seem that Cardinal Ratzinger’s earlier enthusiasm for primacy of conscience over primacy of Pope has waned now that he actually is the Pope. At least he has a clear conscience, I guess. Or on the other hand he can over ride his papal authority with his individual conscience!

It was the second time in a week Pope Benedict XVI has moved to correct what he calls erroneous interpretations of the 1960s reforming Vatican Council. Last Friday he issued a document revitalising the latin mass, sidelined after the council allowed masses in different languages.

Apparently the Pope also wants to revive an ancient prayer for the salvation of Jews, that they may see the one true faith. Oh dear. You’d think when traditional Christian churches in the West are under enormous pressure for survival, or even relevance, that the Pope would be trying to cultivate the spirit of ecumenism, rather than division.

Reminds me of that old joke:

I was walking across a bridge one day, and I saw a man standing on the edge, about to jump off.

So I ran over and said, “Stop! Don’t do it!”

“Why shouldn’t I?” he said.

I said, “Well, there’s so much to live for!”

He said, “Like what?”

I said, “Well, are you religious or atheist?”

He said, “Religious.”

I said, “Me too! Are your Christian or Buddhist?”

He said, “Christian.”

I said, “Me too! Are you Catholic or Protestant?”

He said, “Protestant.”

I said, Me too! Are your Episcopalian or Baptist?

He said, “Baptist!”

I said, “Wow! Me too! Are your Baptist Church of God or Baptist Church of the Lord?

He said, Baptist Church of God!”

I said, “Me too! Are your Original Baptist Church of God or are you Reformed Baptist Church of God?”

He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God!”

I said, “Me too! Are you Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1879, or Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915?”

He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915!”

I said, “Die, heretic scum!” and pushed him off.

Filed under: Big Picture, Nonsense, Religion

3 Responses

  1. Dave Bath says:

    What next? Recant on the apology to Galileo? Bring back indulgences? (perhaps this is why Tony Blair talked about becoming a catholic now that purgatory has been dissolved).

    Remember, the CDF is merely the rebadged Spanish Inquisition. (Nobody expected that, right?)

    It’s worth remembering that Pell is a CDF member.

  2. Link says:

    Gee Slim, how did you manage to remember such a terrible joke?

    I wouldn’t have thought they were in much of a position to be tub-thumpin’ either.

    I didn’t know they’d done away with indulgences and when I first hard of them, oh . . . how I laffed!

  3. Bannerman says:

    Yet another graphic demonstration of the irrelevancy of religion.

Leave a Reply

The Dog’s Bollocks

What they say

The Dog's Bollocks: "Bollocks" is one of my favourite words, and this is now one of my favourite blogs and I've only been reading it for five minutes. – John Surname

This is the person who tried to analyse Hayek. This is actually a person who needs a shrink. – JC

Shut up slim. You’re an idiot.
Just you stay honest and keep that thinking cap on. – GMB

Insightful perspectives on politics and discussion of matters epistemological? I’m sold! - Bruce

Add to Technorati Favorites

Flickr Photos

