The Dog’s Bollocks

Truth is like a dog’s bollocks – pretty obvious if you care to look.

Logical Fallacy – spot the comment button!

Five Public Opinions continues to raise interesting philosophical conundra such as Spot the Logical Fallacy, but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to leave a comment. I’m assuming they’re disabled, which is a pity, as I’m often inspired to reply. So if you’re out there Arthur, please let me know how I can comment!

My comment for Spot the Logical Fallacy:

Short version: If the existence or non-existence of God could be proven decisively by application of logic, the issue would be long done and dusted.

Long Version: The Vedantic conclusion is that God is eternal and without cause. In this context, eternal doesn’t mean a very long time and them some, it means without beginning or end. And as I’ve mentioned, without cause. This simple conclusion is at once frustrating and infuriating, for it defies logic and empiricism. Vedantists call it ‘inconceivable’. It is beyond logic and intellectual analysis. We can debate the existence of God until the cows come home and we’ll never reach a definitive conclusion. The extent that we can ‘know’ or ‘deny’ is derived from experience and emotion. For believers it is through mysticism, whatever that is! Perhaps for free-market globalists it is economics. Either way, no belief system has the right to impose its rules on others, especially in violent and oppressive ways.

Filed under: Big Picture, Ideology, Philosophy, Religion, Science

9 Responses

  1. AV says:

    I have Haloscan, slim, and sometimes when the page loads Haloscan doesn’t load with it. This happens very rarely, but it might have happened in your case.

    Anyway, I’ll copy and paste your contribution into the comments thread.

    AV

  2. Link says:

    Hi Slim, I found you. Got the Error 404 message at first. Ditto AV above,

    Back on topic however, re the eternal, I think you’ll find it outside the time/space contiuum, which is a very difficult place to visit, because once you’re there, you realise that you’re not, because you’re there and therefore taking up some kind of space. its an interesting conundrum. Have to wait until we are less dense I suppose, which is bound to happen one day.

  3. slim says:

    Which begs that other biggie – what happens after that?

  4. Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  5. I’ll immediately grab your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me know in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  6. If you are going for most excellent contents like me, simply pay
    a visit this website all the time since it provides
    quality contents, thanks

  7. you’re in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any
    distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork.

    you’ve performed a fantastic process in this matter!

  8. I hardly drop comments, however after reading through a lot of remarks on this
    page Logical Fallacy – spot the comment button!
    | The Dog’s Bollocks. I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay.
    Is it simply me or does it look as if like some of these remarks
    appear like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛
    And, if you are writing at other places, I would like to follow you.
    Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  9. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this web site, and post is truly fruitful for me,
    keep up posting such content.

Leave a comment

The Dog’s Bollocks

What they say

The Dog's Bollocks: "Bollocks" is one of my favourite words, and this is now one of my favourite blogs and I've only been reading it for five minutes. – John Surname

This is the person who tried to analyse Hayek. This is actually a person who needs a shrink. – JC

Shut up slim. You’re an idiot.
Just you stay honest and keep that thinking cap on. – GMB

Insightful perspectives on politics and discussion of matters epistemological? I’m sold! - Bruce

Add to Technorati Favorites

Flickr Photos