The Dog’s Bollocks

Truth is like a dog’s bollocks – pretty obvious if you care to look.

Blogotariat launched – Ozblog news commentary

BlogotariatBlogotariat is designed to be a useful and productive addition to the Australian blogosphere in the interests of advancing the growing volume of quality current affairs commentary in Ozblogistan. Collaborative web communities are a great source of information and ideas – the problem is accessing the wealth of material out there. It needs good design – both of data handling and web presentation. Blogotariat is an attempt to fill the gap.

For the moment, Blogotariat will be mostly news feed aggregation, but with intelligent taxonomic ordering. It will be easy to see what people have written over the last two weeks on Religion, Ass-hattery or Wingnuttery for example. In time, an editorial crew would be good, to value add with op-eds and a weekly round-up – a weekend edition if you like.

I have started Blogotariat as a platform to enhance the role of blog commentary and its growing influence on Mainstream Media and the political process – the great contest of ideas essential to a civil society. If it grows I’ll figure out how to fund it as needs arise.

Filed under: Blogging, Media

7 Responses

  1. Link says:

    It looks excellent Slim. Well done. Visually appealing, clear and interesting. Thanks for the link too. When I found myself on Bryan’s Ozpolitics I was a bit stunned, (I think I got included for a bit of ‘gender’ balance) but I have found it a good source of referrals and feel wickedly satisfied when posting a title such as ‘My Question is to the Member for Wentworth’ (which was about his half starved cows next door) that some pissy little staffer may well read it. Tee hee. Oh, for a word in the Sultan’s ear! We live in interesting times.

  2. slim says:

    Cheers Link!

    It’s been a long labour of love to get it this far but I’ve learned a lot along the way. Here’s hoping it goes well!

  3. phil says:

    Slim – great initiative and thanks for picking up VVB. I took myself off the Ozpolitics feed, but happy to be here – it means I will have to devote a little more thought to the first couple of sentences which will be good discipline.

  4. The Editor says:

    Looks like an excellent idea and a promising site! Will be interested to see how it develops.

  5. Possum Comitatus says:

    Well done slim, a nice central portal for my morning coffee.

  6. […] has started Blogtariat, an aggregator of feeds from a number of Australian-centric op-ed blogs, with taxonomies and […]

  7. Sacha says:

    The site looks nice – hope it goes well!

Leave a comment

The Dog’s Bollocks

What they say

The Dog's Bollocks: "Bollocks" is one of my favourite words, and this is now one of my favourite blogs and I've only been reading it for five minutes. – John Surname

This is the person who tried to analyse Hayek. This is actually a person who needs a shrink. – JC

Shut up slim. You’re an idiot.
Just you stay honest and keep that thinking cap on. – GMB

Insightful perspectives on politics and discussion of matters epistemological? I’m sold! - Bruce

Add to Technorati Favorites

Flickr Photos