The Dog’s Bollocks

Truth is like a dog’s bollocks – pretty obvious if you care to look.

It’s all right Ma, I’m only bleeding

Driving for some hours today to the Optomist in Queenscliff I was singing along with the Car Collection I made for the Rose’s Gap roadtrip and on the way home was a stripped back version of It’s All Right Ma, I’m only Bleeding by Bob Dylan with nothing but a guitar and a harmonica. The Bird’s version was a significant feature of the soundtrack to Easy Rider with Jack Nicholson, Peter Fonda and Dennis Hopper.

IAMIOB is one of my all time Dylan favorites. Pure Beat poet inspired stream of consciousness pre-rap observations of the essential existential angst of modern life. I can’t believe I just wrote that, but that’s the best way I can put it. Or you can just listen to the man himself in one of these MyTube thingies. Sensational lyrics if you maintain the concentration.

Filed under: Music, Philosophy, YouTube

2 Responses

  1. Mal says:

    It’s alright ma, it’s life, and life only 🙂
    Thanx for the video link too. It’s from “No Direction Home”, I think 🙂
    Cyalayta
    Mal 🙂

  2. slim says:

    Hi Mal. It’s such a powerful performance – it still amazes me. I always like the live version he did with The Band on Before the Flood, but this one makes it easier to follow the all-important lyric.

Leave a Reply

The Dog’s Bollocks

What they say

The Dog's Bollocks: "Bollocks" is one of my favourite words, and this is now one of my favourite blogs and I've only been reading it for five minutes. – John Surname

This is the person who tried to analyse Hayek. This is actually a person who needs a shrink. – JC

Shut up slim. You’re an idiot.
Just you stay honest and keep that thinking cap on. – GMB

Insightful perspectives on politics and discussion of matters epistemological? I’m sold! - Bruce

Add to Technorati Favorites

Flickr Photos

Scan-130524-0020c

Scan-130524-0020b

Scan-130524-0020a

More Photos
